About SACA

Updated April 17th, 2018

The South Australian Chess Association (SACA) was established in 1894, taking over chess matters for the state of South Australia from the Adelaide Chess Club.

SACA’s responsibilities include:

  • representing the State in all chess matters
  • fostering and encouraging interest in chess
  • organising interstate matches as well as the Interclub, State, Women’s and City of Adelaide Championships

SACA also manages the Chess Centre where most state competitions are held, as well as being a meeting place for chess enthusiasts.

Junior chess is organised by the South Australian Junior Chess League, which is affiliated with SACA.


The following are the current appointed members of the SACA committee. 
The next AGM will be held in February 2019 (Date TBA).

SACA Patron

Aivars Lidums OAM


SACA Patron

Richard Thorne

ACF Delegate
Bay Sports Delegate

George Howard

Deputy President

Alan Goldsmith

Vice President
Assistant Grade Match Secretary

NA William Wedding


Public Officer

Robin Wedding


Assistant Treasurer
Chess Centre Manager

Zina Koodrin



Priscilla Whitney

Tournament Secretary

Aaron Perkins


Assistant Tournament Secretary

IM Mark Chapman


Grade Match Secretary
Ratings Officer

NA Justin Thai


Webmaster & Grants officer

Dave Thomas


Marketing Coordinator

Zdravko Stojkoski

Trophies Custodian

Garth Whitney


Vega Licensing Representative

Bill Anderson-Smith