About SACA

Updated September 19th, 2022

The South Australian Chess Association (SACA) was established in 1894, taking over chess matters for the state of South Australia from the Adelaide Chess Club.

SACA’s responsibilities include:

  • Representing the State in all chess matters
  • Fostering and encouraging interest in chess
  • Organising interstate matches as well as the Interclub, State, Women’s and City of Adelaide Championships

SACA also manages the Chess Centre where most state competitions are held, as well as being a meeting place for chess enthusiasts.

Junior chess is organised by the South Australian Junior Chess League, which is affiliated with SACA.

Committee

The following are the current appointed members of the SACA committee.
The next AGM will be held in February 2023 (Date TBA).

SACA Patron

Aivars Lidums OAM

 

President

Alan Goldsmith

president@sachess.org.au

Contact Number: 0401 67 2481

Deputy President,
Trophies Custodian

Garth Whitney

trophies@sachess.org.au

Vice President

Bill Jordan

 

Secretary

Priscilla Grace

secretary@sachess.org.au

Treasurer,
Chess Centre Manager

Zina Koodrin

treasurer@sachess.org.au

Assistant Treasurer,
Assistant Grade Match Secretary

Michael Lazarou

 

Tournament Secretary,
Grade Match Secretary,
Ratings Officer,
Vice President

Aaron Perkins

tournaments@sachess.org.au
gradematches@sachess.org.au
ratings@sachess.org.au

Assistant Tournament Secretary,
Vice President

Scott Colliver

 

Marketing Officer

James Drew

marketing@sachess.org.au

Public Officer

Robin Wedding

 

Webmaster

David Sambell

webmaster@sachess.org.au

Assistant Webmaster

Dave Thomas

 

Web Coordinator
(chess.com)

Debra McManus

 

Web Coordinator
(lichess.org)

Mato Jelic

 

ACF Delegate

Misheck Muza

acfdelegate@sachess.org.au

Bay Sports Representative

George Howard

 

Vega Licensing Representative

Bill Anderson-Smith